Computer Information Technology - Industry Certifications

Industry certifications validate a candidate's technical knowledge and skills. Many NMC courses include opportunities for students to become certified.  For additional information on testing and/or training for any of the certification opportunities listed below, call (231) 995-1169 or email NMC is an authorized Certiport, Pearson-VUE, and Prometric testing center.

Cisco Networking Academy logo

Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching Certification – The CCNA certification (Cisco Certified Network Associate) indicates a foundation in, and apprentice knowledge of networking. CCNA certified professionals can install, configure, operate LAN and WAN services for small and medium-sized networks, including but not limited to use of these technologies: IP, IPv6, OSPF, Ethernet, Access Lists, Software-Designed Networking, and Network Virtualization.

Cisco Internetworking I (CIT 160)Cisco Internetworking II (CIT 161), and Cisco Internetworking III (CIT 260) are courses offered by the NMC Cisco Networking Academy and provide preparation for the CCNA Routing & Switching Exam.

CompTIA logos

CompTIA A+ ®  Certification – This certification is the industry standard for validating vendor-neutral skills expected of an entry-level IT technician. CompTIA A+ Certification I (CIT 156) and CompTIA A+ Certification II (CIT 157) are NMC courses and provide the necessary preparation to pass the A+ Core 1 and A+ Core 2 Certification exams.

CompTIA Network+ ® Certification  – This certification validates technical competency in network infrastructure and support. Those holding Network+ certification demonstrate critical knowledge of network concepts, network installation and configuration, network media and topologies, network management and network security. Networking Technologies (CIT 213) is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the Network+ Certification exam.

CompTIA Security+ ® Certification  – This certification validates technical knowledge of an individual with experience in network security. The CompTIA Security+® certification validates technical competency in security and covers industry-wide topics including communication security, infrastructure security, cryptography, access control, authentication, external attack, operational and organization security. Network Security Management (CIT 240) provides the necessary preparation to pass the Security+ Certification exam.

CompTIA PenTest+ ® Certification  - This certification validates competencies in penetration testing and vulnerability management. The CompTIA PenTest+ ® certification assesses the most up-to-date penetration testing, and vulnerability assessment and management skills necessary to determine the resiliency of the network against attacks.  Cybersecurity Penetration Testing (CIT 263) is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the PenTest+ Certification exam.

CompTIA CySA+ ® Certification -  This certification validates competencies in security analytics and threat analysis.  The CompTIA CySA+ ®  is an IT workforce certification that applies behavioral analytics to networks and devices to prevent, detect, and combat cybersecurity threats. Cybersecurity Analytics and Threat Analysis (CIT 264)  is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the CySA+ Certification exam.

CompTIA CASP+ ® Certification  - This certification validates  competencies in risk management, enterprise security operations and architecture, research and collaboration, and integration of enterprise security.  Advanced Enterprise Security (CIT 266)  is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the CASP+ Certification exam.

CompTIA Linux+ ® Certification  - This certification validates competencies required for a systems administrator supporting Linux Systems. Linux Administration (CIT 256) is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the Linux+ Certification exam.

CompTIA Cloud+ ® Certification  – This certification validates the skills and expertise of IT practitioners in implementing and maintaining cloud technologies. Cloud+ accredits IT professionals with the constantly changing and advancing knowledge they need to be successful in today’s cloud computing environment. Cloud Technologies (CIT 243) is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the Cloud+ certification exam.

Microsoft Office Specialist logo

Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) – Microsoft Office Specialist certification proves expertise in Microsoft applications. Microsoft Office - Word (CIT 119), Microsoft Office - Excel (CIT 210), and Microsoft Office - PowerPoint (CIT 124) are NMC courses that provide the necessary preparation to pass the individual Microsoft Office Specialist certifications.

Small Microsoft Exam logo

Microsoft Power BI Data Analyst – A Microsoft Power BI Data Analyst certification tests a student's knowledge and skills in data analytics. Intro to Data Analytics (CIT 211) is an NMC course that provides the necessary preparation to pass the Microsoft Power BI Data Analyst certification exam.

Certiport Information Technology Specialist logo

Certiport Information Technology Specialist  – The Certiport Information Technology Specialist certification is an entry-level credential from Certiport that validates essential technology knowledge, enabling students to explore academic and career options, and take the first step toward building a successful career in technology. Certiport certifications are embedded into the CIT Developer and CIT Infrastructure and Security degree programs and certificates.

Successful students are able to earn the following Certiport Information Technology Specialist Exams:

  • Software Development Fundamentals  - ( CIT 255 Object-Oriented Programming)
  • Python -  (CIT 135 Introduction to Programming Using PythonCIT 228 Advanced Database Systems)
  • JavaScript -  (CIT 190 JavaScript Programming)
  • Databases -  (CIT 178 Relational Databases)
  • HTML & CSS - (CIT 180 Web Development)
  • Device Configuration and Management - (CIT 156 CompTIA A+ Certification I)
  • Networking  - (CIT 213 Networking Technologies)
  • Network Security - (CIT 240 Network Security Management
  • Cloud computing - (CIT 243 Cloud Technologies)
  • Cybersecurity - (CIT 266 Advanced Enterprise Security)